We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Ten Years Of Joy

by Justin Purtill

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more


Silent Night 03:02


This music began as a gift to my Mother. I've always loved Christmas music; whether it was singing carols drunkenly at holiday parties, immersed in the meditative solemnity of singing Silent Night by candlelight in church on Christmas Eve, or listening to some of my favorite Christmas records for the whole of December (especially Vince Guaraldi's A Charlie Brown Christmas).

In the fall of 2008, I found myself wondering what I would give my mother for Christmas. I finally called Mom to see if she had any ideas, and her answer was, "I would love a recording of you playing some Christmas music." Ever since, I've given her a gift of three songs a year. This collection represents the best of those thirty songs.

Nothing was rehearsed, and almost all of the tracks were recorded at home. I wanted this music to have the feeling of spontaneity only possible when a musician plays or sings from instinct and the feeling of the moment. For me, creating music from this feeling or "zone" (as some people would call it) is a fairly comfortable place, coming from the world of jazz and improvised music. I'd like to thank my wife, Yulia, who is used to the masterful (rehearsed) precision of classical music, for being willing to step out of her comfort zone in order to participate so beautifully in these recordings.

I had a lot of fun recording these songs year after year for my Mother, and so I sincerely hope this music brings you, the listener, much joy and happiness, and helps you get into the Spirit of the holidays.

Much Love and Happy Holidays, Justin Purtill


released December 14, 2018

Justin Purtill - voice, guitars, bass, swedish nyckelharpa, percussion
Yulia Van Doren - voice on Away In A Manger, O' Come All Ye Faithful, I Wonder As I Wander, Silent Night

All songs arranged by Justin Purtill except Away in a Manger, O' Come All Ye Faithful, I Wonder As I Wander, and Silent Night arranged by Justin Purtill and Yulia Van Doren.

Mastered by Toby Mountain at Northeastern Digital

All songs recorded and mixed by Justin Purtill at Marshall St. Studios except for O' Come All Ye Faithful (recorded at Strobe Studios Chicago, mixed by Justin and Jamie Wagner) and The Little Drummer Boy and Silent Night (recorded at Waysound Studios in Fox River Grove and mixed by Justin and Justin Lebreck).

Cover art by Yulia Van Doren


all rights reserved



Justin Purtill Grass Valley, California

contact / help

Contact Justin Purtill

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like Justin Purtill, you may also like: